2024 Winter/Spring Planting:

* Ginseng Seed: Currently shipping everyday until sold out
* Ginseng Rootlets: sold out
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
Post your experiences, questions and answers about growing wild-simulated ginseng

TOPIC: Go big or go home

Go big or go home 7 years 8 months ago #38737

I'm new to the sight and have enjoyed reading from this foroum. I was all gun ho last year and planted 60lbs of seed and when it come up this past spring I was ready too turn in my notice at work but after reading and educating my self a little further I feel like I may need to get a second job lol.I plan on planting 60 more lbs this fall but I'm trying to find a better way to plant seed without killing my self is there anyone on here found d a way to plant wild simulated mechanicaly?.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Re:Go big or go home 7 years 8 months ago #38739

good luck with your planting...

Re:Go big or go home 7 years 8 months ago #38741

Big Mac...

Below is a picture that Hardings sent me a few years ago showing how they prep a site for planting...

Obviously a lot of clean up work went into that, and then a tractor was used to disk it up (looks like to me anyway). Also looks like (based on white powder seen around base of trees) that he put down something like lime, bonemeal or fertilizers of some kind (probably again with tractor broadcast).

The obvious catch to being able to do that is your hillside would have to be workable by a tractor (not too steep).

TNHunter

Attachments:

Re:Go big or go home 7 years 8 months ago #38742

Below is a picture of the results...

Hope this helps.

PS... if I planted 60 lbs of seed manually in one fall... that would kill me :-)

TNHunter

Attachments:

Re:Go big or go home 7 years 8 months ago #38746

Thanks for the pics..I can get my bobcat over most of my growing area.I may try a half acre like that.

Re:Go big or go home 7 years 8 months ago #38747