2024 Winter/Spring Planting:

* Ginseng Seed: Currently shipping everyday until sold out
* Ginseng Rootlets: sold out
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
Post your experiences, questions and answers about growing wild-simulated ginseng
  • Page:

TOPIC: Question on Unsprouted Seeds

Question on Unsprouted Seeds 8 years 9 months ago #35580

Hi All:

So I'm relatively new to ginseng planting and growing. Last Fall, during October and November, however, I purchased stratified seeds and planted them in various shaded locations around my farm. (I'm living in a region that appears to meet the specs for decent ginseng growing.) I'd typically lift up the leaf bed, loosen the soil a bit, plant relatively close to the surface as instructed, and replace the leaf bed.

As I've gone back around to the locations where I planted this Spring, I haven't noticed anything having sprouted up. I'm curious as to why this is. I had thought that stratified seeds were supposed to sprout the spring immediately following the fall planting. Did I do something wrong, does it sometimes take longer, what's really going on here? Any thoughts or suggestions are helpful. I had wanted to plant a few more this Fall, but if I'm planting things that won't actually grow for whatever reason I don't want to waste more of my time and money.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Re:Question on Unsprouted Seeds 8 years 9 months ago #35584

Ginseng has a complex dormancy requirement. Sometimes we don't understand why it does what it does. You are not the only one dealing with this issue this year. In my case, the seed is still in the ground and viable, so I anticipate seeing it next spring. Not ideal, but not a loss either. Normally, stratified seed does come up the following spring, but even with outstanding germination, I still see some new ones coming up a year or even two years later.

Re:Question on Unsprouted Seeds 8 years 9 months ago #35585

Where did u purchase the seed from?