Re:license for ginseng
14 years 2 months ago #2591
I'm in indiana.Emailed DNR they really don't know what i am talking about,still working with them.There has to be ginseng farms on here that sell seed and rootlets.What type of license do you guys have. I just want to be legal.
VA , U dont need a license, just permission from landowner if U arent the landowner. I dont trust the fact that someone from state office wanted me to have someone \"inspect\" my patch where the wild plants grow. I am letting them sit for another year or two, since there is so much poaching in VA and I am not
trusting anyone in any office from giving out my info.
Indiana Ginseng Law and Regulations | Print | E-mail
? No license is required to dig wild ginseng on private land in Indiana, but the property owner?s permission must be obtained.
? A Ginseng Dealer?s License is required to buy ginseng from harvesters or other dealers for resale or export from the state of Indiana.
? The harvest season for wild ginseng in Indiana is September 1 to December 31 and the selling season is September 1 to March 31 of the next year.
? Indiana state law requires all harvested plants to have at least 3 prongs and a flowering or fruiting stalk present. All harvested plants must also have at least 4 bud scars (?internodes?) on the neck (?rhizome?).
? Indiana requires that mature fruits and seeds be planted in the vicinity where the plant was dug and in a manner that encourages germination.
? Ginseng may not be harvested on state land in Indiana, including all properties managed by the state?s Dept. of Natural Resources.
? The Indiana Department of Natural Resources, Division of Nature Preserves, serves as the state?s ginseng coordinator, and can be reached at (317) 232-4052 or:
402 W. Washington St., Rm W-267
Indianapolis, IN 46204-2739
? Collection of ginseng is not allowed in the Hoosier National Forest. Contact Hoosier National Forest by calling (812) 547-7051 or via mail:
Here in MN you don't need a license to grow or sell ginseng as long as you sell it in the state of MN. If you intend to sell it out of state it needs to be certified by a conservation officer and a license has to be purchased at a cost of $5.00 per year.