2024 Spring Planting:

* Ginseng Seed: Currently shipping everyday until sold out
* Ginseng Rootlets: Will be offered in Fall
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
Post your experiences, questions and answers about growing wild-simulated ginseng
  • Page:

TOPIC: Growing, seeds, introduction

Growing, seeds, introduction 13 years 5 months ago #7239

Hello everybody! I'm from a little place in tn. I've been digging ginseng for the past seven years. It has kind of been a past time and heritage In our family. I have a few questions I would like to get some answers about.

1. A buddy of mine and I was under the impression that cultivated seed was fine to plant. It just matters the condition of where the seeds grow that determines if it is woods grown or cultivated plants? Last year we got some 1000 seeds online and we did some test planting and found out 80% came up great. So this year we got 10,000 seeds and went to the mountains and started planting. We were wanting to go back in 5 years to collect the plants.

This year when we sold our ginseng our buyer showed us some sang root from Wisconsin. It looked all different. Slick brown junk looking root. Now he doesn't even know if the Wisconsin seed is good to replant here or not.

So did we infect our mountains and ginseng spots?

2. I have a great place to start growing ginseng. 5 acres of hill side that naturally had ginseng growing in it. I have replanted sang here and it has been doing good. The plants that are here naturally is smaller sized roots and they are old sometimes up to 20 years. Seems like once the plants reach to 7 years the quit growing in size roots.