* Ginseng Seed: Currently shipping everyday until sold out
* Ginseng Rootlets: sold out
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
Post your questions and answers about Goldenseal herb
  • Page:

TOPIC: golden seal question

golden seal question 12 years 6 months ago #12771

Hi folks im new to this site and have found it to be very helpful. I have began my quest this year to become a rooter! I have recently found a very good location of golden seal My question is when harvesting the roots, am I suppossed to be harvesting the stem also any info would be greatly appriciated. I have been studying and searching for ginseng for 4 years now with no luck. however this year I have located and harvested Bloodroot, black and blue cohosh, salomons seal and golden seal still havent identified yellow root and seng!

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Re:golden seal question 12 years 6 months ago #12778

i'm pretty sure golden seal and yellow root is the same thing, you can also sale the tops with yellow root, i think last year the guy i sold to bought the top for like .50 cents a pound, unless you have someone cleaning the roots and putting the tops and roots in a diff. bag about isn't worth packing the two bags around yourself, sold my yellow root for 30.00 a pound last year

Re:golden seal question 12 years 6 months ago #12801

Sold my goldenseal tops for 3 dollars a pound dry this summer. It usually averages about a pound tops per pound roots. If you dig a lot of goldenseal it all adds up more than you might think.

Re:golden seal question 12 years 6 months ago #12802

there is a yellow root and golden seal, i think it jusdt depends on where your at which its called, in the books what i call yellowroot is called golden seal, the yellow root looks like some kinda tree or bush, i seen a video on youtube of a guy in georgia digging it once, last i heard the tops were 3 a pound, but they aint worth it to me

Re:golden seal question 12 years 6 months ago #12803