• Page:

TOPIC: Taxes on ginseng

Taxes on ginseng 13 years 3 months ago #8346

• BOYHUD17
  • BOYHUD17's Avatar Topic Author
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
  • Give thanks to God for the sang we all love to dig
So I'm wondering if like, you raised an acre of seng and it was considered wild and you made like $20,000 on it, would you have to pay taxes on that?

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Re:Taxes on ginseng 13 years 3 months ago #8348

Legally the answer is yes I believe as it is considered income and you would need to file it as income during tax time. I am not a tax professional so please confirm this with your tax person.
Thanks,
Latt

Re:Taxes on ginseng 13 years 3 months ago #8349

If your income is augmented by the sale, then taxes are a requirement... from the IRS. You will have to determine if you want to pay the IRS... and the amount you post , gotta be honest, you know? However, like the previous poster stated: \"I'm not a professional tax person.\"

However if you have a business growing 'Sing, and you can show expenses to offset the income, then that's another story. Still, you would need to show the IRS on the apprioate forms from them that the offset expenses were, well, IRS \"streetlegal\". In other words, you'd need to file using the usual IRS forms, which feed into your state's income tax dept... you get the idea....

I don't know how you would hide such a large income amount. I don't recommend it either...

Re:Taxes on ginseng 13 years 3 months ago #8355

• BOYHUD17
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
Well actually I'm only 17 and was wondering for future reference. I don't have to put up with taxes yet lol But thanks cuz I thought you did, I just didn't really know cuz it never even crossed my mind till the other day.

I do agree tho, tryin to hide that wouldn't be a smart idea at all.

Re:Taxes on ginseng 13 years 3 months ago #8359

Well, being 17 doesn't exempt you from taxes. Being exempt from income does. good luck!