2024 Winter/Spring Planting:

* Ginseng Seed: Currently shipping everyday until sold out
* Ginseng Rootlets: sold out
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Curing

Curing 10 years 6 months ago #24625

Hello all, I am very new to the hunt from east/central Ky. I have a couple questions i searched furums for but didnt get what i was looking for. how do you know when its dry enough and what is fastest way to dry. Also how do i keep my roots GREEN as possible if i decide to sell green? Thank you in advance and happy hunting

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Re:Curing 10 years 6 months ago #24626

Well everyone has their own method in some cases. However the majority will clean their roots gently (Don't Scrub Them). Then put them on a screen and let them dry slowly in a dry cool spot such as a dry basement or cool closet etc.
Do not fast dry them in the sun.

As far as selling green, I have never done that before but I know many do. I would assume it is best to get the fresh roots to the dealer asap after you dig them.
Just my 2 cents worth.
Good luck,
Latt

Re:Curing 10 years 6 months ago #24627

Blistered feet,

I have attached a document about drying ginseng for you to reference.

If you want to keep the root green, just put it in a ziplock and keep it in the fridge. If they are kept to long they can sometimes develop cracks on the root, so be aware of that.

RAF

Well I guess the document didn't attach. You can find it online by searching \"Growing American Ginseng In Ohio: Harvesting, Washing, and Drying\"

Re:Curing 10 years 6 months ago #24628

I have found a dehumidifier used in a small room works well. I set mine in a paper bag next to it.

Re:Curing 10 years 6 months ago #24630

I always take the top from a produce box, like tomato box lids, and place a thin layer on each one. Then place them on a shelf in my garage and let them dry. Usually takes bout 3 weeks depending on size of the roots.