2024 Spring Planting:

* Ginseng Seed: Currently shipping everyday until sold out
* Ginseng Rootlets: Will be offered in Fall
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: New to Ginseng, Please Help :)

New to Ginseng, Please Help :) 11 years 6 months ago #20511

hello to all the wonderful ginseng hunters here. I am new to this and have been reading on this hobby as much as I can. I really want to learn about the hunting of wild ginseng and want to do it the right way so that I don't do anything wrong.

I am in Mississippi State, I called my local wild life department to check on the laws about it already. but was wondering where should I go to hunt for ginseng, if I don't own any land? I want to do this as a hobby with my son. I am 30 years old and my son is already 10 and I really want to do something like this with him.

Please any information or help I can get would be greatly appreciated.

thanks, with much love.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Re:New to Ginseng, Please Help :) 11 years 6 months ago #20526

Xena - My best advice is to just stop and ask permission. Explain to the landowner that you are wanting to get your son involved in this hobby just like you did in your post. Don't be afraid of rejection. not everyone will be willing to allow you on their property, but you may be surprised how many do.

Also I would recomend trying to find an
experienced seng hunter to show you the ropes if you've never hunted for it before. Some of the guys on this forum make finding ginseng look easy, but it is a very difficult to find little plant.

Re:New to Ginseng, Please Help :) 11 years 6 months ago #20527

• Billy
  • Dealer
  • Dealer
  • Billy Taylor from Bell County Ky
Hello Xena and welcome to the forum

5prong gave good advise,also

Here is 2 channels that will help you the first one here is the video page of our friend here Tnhunter
He does a good job exsplaing hunting and many other aspects of wild ginseng information