2024 Spring Planting:

* Ginseng Seed: Currently shipping everyday until sold out
* Ginseng Rootlets: Will be offered in Fall
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Planting Ginseng

Planting Ginseng 12 years 10 months ago #10505

I'm looking to plant a pound of ginseng seed this fall. I have never done it before and have actually never seen a ginseng seed before. I want to plant the ginseng seed in a garden row planter to save time and energy. There is obviously no planting plate for a ginseng seed but am wondering if another plate would do. Are ginseng seeds similar in size to a more common seed? Corn? Beets? I want to know if anyone else has done this before or has a better suggestion. Any input would help. Thank you very much.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Re:Planting Ginseng 12 years 10 months ago #10506

Some will modify a radish seed planter. I cannot remember the recommended drill size to bore out the holes of the radish seeder. If I were you I would contact Larry Harding at Hardings Ginseng. I think it might have been Larry that told me about using a radish seed planter.

Radish seed looks remarkably similar to Ginseng seed except the ginseng seed is a bit larger. The ginseng seed cannot make it through the radish seed planter holes unless they are bored out with the right size drill bit.

P.S. You may want to watch TNhunters video on this forum galled \"Rake and Scatter\" method. It shows how to plant ginseng without using a seeder and is how I plant seed as well as most of the others on this forum.

Good luck.
Latt

Re:Planting Ginseng 12 years 10 months ago #10507

Also I think I remember something about Johnny's Select Seed. It might have been them that I talked to about modifying a radish seed plate. Their phone # is 877-564-6697.
Latt

Re:Planting Ginseng 12 years 10 months ago #10508

Kyle,