2024 Winter/Spring Planting:

* Ginseng Seed: Currently shipping everyday until sold out
* Ginseng Rootlets: sold out
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
Follow Harvest Stewardship and always comply with your State Ginseng Rules and Regulations when collecting wild ginseng roots.
  • Page:

TOPIC: Advice Please!!!!

Advice Please!!!! 13 years 5 months ago #6119

I Am new to the whole ginseng picking and i found some but it's hard to get an estimate of what i have and how much it's worth so if someone could look at this link and respond back and give me some idea of how valuable these would be (price range) it would help a load!

s1218.photobucket.com/albums/dd404/postslipknotik/

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Re:Advice Please!!!! 13 years 5 months ago #6120

It looks like you got some good root there. Unfortunatly not I nor anyone else can tell you exactly what its worth. There are two ways of selling ginseng; 1. green/or fresh and 2. dry I personally sell mine dry and have never sold any green. Next you will have to get ahold of a licensed ginseng dealer in your state and ask him what the current price per pound is. Then you will know how much you have. But remember it takes about 200-300 average roots to make a pound and maybe more than that I have never counted.

Re:Advice Please!!!! 13 years 5 months ago #6121

Almost all these roots average an oz or more. Either way i am going to sell them today and i was curious as to weather or not to sell them pound for pound (by weight) or if i had something special and should be a little more care full. Please let me know.

Re:Advice Please!!!! 13 years 5 months ago #6133

Hey IOWA,

Those are some nice roots and it looks like you did a good job of digging them.

I don't see anything extra special in the bunch though - nothing like a perfect man root or emporers root.

My favorite is that one with the fairly long neck and fat double bulb type root.