2024 Spring Planting:

* Ginseng Seed: Currently shipping everyday until sold out
* Ginseng Rootlets: Will be offered in Fall
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
Follow Harvest Stewardship and always comply with your State Ginseng Rules and Regulations when collecting wild ginseng roots.
  • Page:

TOPIC: CAN'T FIND IT, CAN'T FIND IT, CAN'T FIND IT

CAN'T FIND IT, CAN'T FIND IT, CAN'T FIND IT 14 years 6 months ago #2743

• skiddr
  • skiddr's Avatar Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
I spent half a day yesterday, half a day Tuesday, and most all day last Friday in some good looking locations and have yet to find a plant.
Yes, I'm a newbie. I hunted with my uncle when I was a teenager, but with other things in life like chaseing girls, getting married, working and raising a family, I never hunted again. Now I'm 60, retired, and have a desire to spend time in the woods.
I have studied, read, printed pictures, looked at topo maps until my brain has had a meltdown.
Is it too late to find it in the Southeast Tenn area, ( Tenn river valley between Knoxville and Chattanooga )?
The pictures that you kind people post are a great help, however, It would help to put a soda can or something in the picture for a size aide. Also I would like to see landscape type photos of the type of terrain.
I am beginning to get frustrated, but not willing to give up.
PLEASE HELP!!!

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Re:CAN'T FIND IT, CAN'T FIND IT, CAN'T FIND IT 14 years 6 months ago #2745

• Billy
  • Dealer
  • Dealer
  • Billy Taylor from Bell County Ky
skiddr that area is only about 1 1/2 hours ride from me and I do not think that the seng there has all fallen already,but it will fall soon,I am still digging plentiful here in Middlesboro Ky area,but look for it to en within 3 weeks or so because of a sevear change in tepmeture the past 3 days,especialy over nite and early morning..