2024 Winter/Spring Planting:

* Ginseng Seed: Currently shipping everyday until sold out
* Ginseng Rootlets: sold out
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
Post your experiences, questions and answers about growing wild-simulated ginseng

TOPIC: seed bed dirt

seed bed dirt 9 years 4 weeks ago #34603

Hi I am new to growing ginseng. I am wanting to make a seed bed. I was wondering if the composted bark and sawdust from sawmill would make good dirt for the bed?

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Re:seed bed dirt 9 years 3 weeks ago #34604

Melton...

I was looking thru some of my 2014 ginseng pictures last evening and ran across this one of me seed bed. This was first week in August.

I established my see bed on a north east facing hillside. I broke up a 14' x 8' spot 4-5\" deep with a grub hoe. Then I raked the 8' wide part towards the center to end up with a hilled up (raised) bed that was 14' x 5' or so.

That left some good drainage ditches on each side of the bed... with the bed itself being raised up 4-5\" above the rest of the ground in that area.

My dirt in that area was nothing special... just your average woods soil.

I added to it, composted peat moss (garden magic brand).. and I also went to a hollow that grows very good ginseng - that has rock chip filled soil that the seng just loves... and I brought home 6 (5 gal buckets) of that seng loving rock chip filled soil... and added that to my seed bed.

I added some Bone Meal, Epson Salt and Gypsum and a little blood meal (not too much this is high in N)... and later on added some green sand (lots of good trace minerals).

Before I planted the roots in there that I had collected, I cut some gypsum board in narrow strips and laid them across the bed too. So each row of roots planted, had a strip of gypsum board above and below it. Over time the gypsum board will break down releasing gypsum into the soil (calcium).