2024 Winter/Spring Planting:

* Ginseng Seed: Currently shipping everyday until sold out
* Ginseng Rootlets: sold out
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: the future of ginseng

the future of ginseng 9 years 5 months ago #32750

Where does everyone here think this plant is heading? It doesn't look to good to me. It was a threatened species before it was being Exploited on Nat Geo and the \"history\" channel. This is my first year hunting ginseng, and ill be the first to admit that Appalachian outlaws is what sparked my interest in it. They provide a perspective to the general public that is outlandish and offensive. I've spent the majority of my life in the Appalachian mountains. I was born amongst these hills and take pride in it. I look to replant ten times the amount of ginseng I have harvested this season. I fear that many like me only seek to rape the land for their wallets...done ranting, just wanted to hear the forum's opinion

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Re:the future of ginseng 9 years 5 months ago #32751

Hello bgd304,
It sounds like you have made a good investment in the future of ginseng by some of the things you have done, such as planting a lot of berries. Great, thank you!
I would just encourage you to buy a pound of stratified seed and go to all the places you have found ginseng growing or that looks like it would grow some and plant these areas real well. Encourage a friend to do the same thing. If you can do this, the future of ginseng will prosper. Thanks again.

Hugh

Re:the future of ginseng 9 years 5 months ago #32752

Hey bgd304,

I am seeing a lot of folks coming into the ginseng community this year for the first time. Some coming back after many years away. I'm personally still mixed about the effects of those shows. Some of the effects I believe are negative as you and others have noted. On the other hand, I think many of the effects are actually positive. You are one example.