2024 Spring Planting:

* Ginseng Seed: Currently shipping everyday until sold out
* Ginseng Rootlets: Will be offered in Fall
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: 7-leaves...How common or rare?

7-leaves...How common or rare? 12 years 8 months ago #11042

I am new to site and had a question for you guys. I have a wild 4 prong in one of my patches this year that has 7 leaves on 2 prongs and 6 leaves on the other two. How common or rare is this? I've been hunting for about 20 years or so, on and off, and have never ran across one. I thought it was a cool plant and wanted to share a couple pics and see how many of ya'll have found these. Thanks and I welcome all comments and feedback. Here are a couple pics taken back at the end of June. --Jason
Attachments:

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Re:7-leaves...How common or rare? 12 years 8 months ago #11043

Re:7-leaves...How common or rare? 12 years 8 months ago #11046

Jason,

That sure is a bueaty !

I don't think those are very common - they sure are not where I live (middle TN).

I know that Billy finds em like that occasionally up in the KY Mountains, but I think they just have some ideal seng growing conditions in the mountains and that probably lends itself to growth of extra foliage (leaves or prongs) like 5 prongs, or one leaf set with more than the standard 5 leaves.

Billy sent me a root from a plant that had extra leaves when he dug it, but this year it came up with just 5 leaves per leaf set, no extra's.

One of the roots I got from Billy has some small leaves on the berry stem, which is a little odd. Have never seen that in any of my local seng either.