2024 Spring Planting:

* Ginseng Seed: Currently shipping everyday until sold out
* Ginseng Rootlets: Will be offered in Fall
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
Follow Harvest Stewardship and always comply with your State Ginseng Rules and Regulations when collecting wild ginseng roots.
  • Page:

TOPIC: Lots of Yellow tops.

Lots of Yellow tops. 14 years 7 months ago #2195

Here in my area of Ohio most of the ginseng is already turning that beautiful shade of yellow. I'd say about 80 percent of what I've seen the last 3 days has already turned. Several laying flat on the ground. The season has only been in 9 days and I don't know if the plants will be around 9 more as quick as they are turning. I love that shade of yellow because it is so easy to see, but hate it cause I know its almost over. Last year I didn't see hardly any yellow till the last week of sept. I'm going to try Wayne National Forest (legal with permit). I've never tried public land before. Don't really know what to expect, but not going in with super high hopes. Going to take my 22 LR to squirrel hunt and enjoy the experience.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Re:Lots of Yellow tops. 14 years 7 months ago #2198

good luck at the park ,5..i'v hunted some on public ground in the past..i'v found that if you can find a out of the way place you can do alright...i love them yellow plants too.ours are just turning .I found 6 yesterday that were yellow..enjoy the squirrel hunt if you aint to busy digging...

Re:Lots of Yellow tops. 14 years 7 months ago #2201

Thanks Cheiftain, Just getting ready to head out. I'm going to hike way back in and spend the night in the woods. Hopefully wont be couger bait :)

Re:Lots of Yellow tops. 14 years 7 months ago #2203

• Billy
  • Dealer
  • Dealer
  • Billy Taylor from Bell County Ky
5prong I wish I was there to go with you man that sounds like a load of goodtimes for sure.