2024 Summer/Fall Planting:

* Ginseng Seed: Pre-orders accepted for pre-set shipping dates
* Ginseng Rootlets: Pre-orders accepted for fall shipment in October
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
Post your experiences, questions and answers about growing wild-simulated ginseng
  • Page:

TOPIC: Late planting success?

Late planting success? 13 years 1 month ago #9150

Can some of you that have done late planting - meaning late winter planting- please post about the success you have had?

Just curious....

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Re:Late planting success? 13 years 1 month ago #9152

As long as you plant like TN hunter shows on his \"Rake and Scatter\" method, it does not matter if you plant in October or Late Feb as long as the seed is planted correctly and you plant on a day where the weather permits. I have seen no difference in my planting beds and I have been doing this for 3 years now. My beds planted in Oct look no different than the ones I planted in Feb 3 years ago. I just planted some seed 3 weeks ago too and it went very well. So I would consider early March as a late winter planting verses spring planting. Spring planting would be late March or April here in Ohio.

Now Spring planting is another story in my opinion and I am not a fan of spring planting at all. However, some people say they have great success with it but I haven't.
Latt

Re:Late planting success? 13 years 1 month ago #9163

Thaks for the post. Latt

I think our warmer weather is a bit earlier here in NC. I am glad to hear your experiences, since that's the approach I took this year. Had plans to start earlier in the fall, however Life got in the way with family emergencies.

I think I've made the \"late winter\" window since the area got 2\" of snow that evening after we got the last roots/seeds in. It's pretty cold this week as well.

Re:Late planting success? 13 years 1 month ago #9169

Whitjr,