2024 Spring Planting:

* Ginseng Seed: Currently shipping everyday until sold out
* Ginseng Rootlets: Will be offered in Fall
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
Follow Harvest Stewardship and always comply with your State Ginseng Rules and Regulations when collecting wild ginseng roots.
  • Page:

TOPIC: Got no one to talk ginseng with

Got no one to talk ginseng with 13 years 6 months ago #6053

Today a buddy and i took 22ozs of gnarly long old roots I bet about 20 of them im fairly new to this. is that good? if from what ive seen in pictures it is i think i planted probably 80-90 berries it was so cool. i forgot to mention this was right behind my house in the middle of a city of like 33,000. thats got to be unheard of. its crazy too cause thers more up there. anyone ever here of any thing like this??

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Re:Got no one to talk ginseng with 13 years 6 months ago #6057

u may have shade but if the drit is not right it wont do well..as for what the right drit is i hae no clue most i find in rich soil...

Re:Got no one to talk ginseng with 13 years 6 months ago #6066

iowa has the richest top soil in america and my county is like 3rd in the country in gypsym mining lots of limestone here...

Re:Got no one to talk ginseng with 13 years 6 months ago #6069

• kman
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
  • looking for 1/2 lb dry wild sang
Iowa,

If no one buys from you, you should probably dunk some of it into a liter of whisky and let it sit for a week or two and enjoy the goodness with your buddy :-)

Re:Got no one to talk ginseng with 13 years 6 months ago #6072

IOWA,

If you are finding big healthy ginseng plants in that area then even if in the midst of a populated area you might want to consider buying some stratified seed and/or rootlets and plant that area back good.

If it is alredy growing there and doing well then there is no questioning the growing conditions, soil, light, etc has to be good enough.