2024 Spring Planting:

* Ginseng Seed: Currently shipping everyday until sold out
* Ginseng Rootlets: Will be offered in Fall
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
Follow Harvest Stewardship and always comply with your State Ginseng Rules and Regulations when collecting wild ginseng roots.
  • Page:

TOPIC: 4 prong plants

4 prong plants 14 years 6 months ago #2784

My family owns a farm that had ginseng cultivated on it during the 1920's. I have been hunting there for three years. In the three years, I have only found one 4 prong plant. Is this an indication that someone else has been digging there in the recent past?? Does the number of prongs on a plant have any correlation to the age of the plant?? Thanks.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Re:4 prong plants 14 years 6 months ago #2788

Popjohn

Age is determined by the neck scares, this is the end of the neck where the stem comes out, every year the neck grows and a new stem comes out leaving the scare from last years stem behind. This is not perfect either but the most accurate way. Prongs are not the way, unless you are a law maker.

Guy

Re:4 prong plants 14 years 6 months ago #2805

Popjohn, There just aren't many absolutes with wild ginseng. Guy is rights when he tells you that the neck scars are the most accurate way to determine age, but even this isn't an absolute as wild ginseng sometimes skips years of growing a top at all. Generally speeking the more prongs the older the plant, but this is just a general guideline. The biggest, and I believe one of the oldest plants I've ever dug was just a 3-prong. The stem on that plant was as big around as my ring finger, but it wasn't very tall and only had about 20 neck scars. I believe it was much older than 20 years based on my experience and the size of that root.