2024 Summer/Fall Planting:

* Ginseng Seed: Pre-orders accepted for pre-set shipping dates
* Ginseng Rootlets: Pre-orders accepted for fall shipment in October
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
Post your experiences, questions and answers about growing wild-simulated ginseng

TOPIC: Site suitability?

Site suitability? 13 years 1 month ago #9082

I have a 13.5 acre plot about 10 of it is wooded surrounded by other wooded areas behind the house. I took the pictures starting at the southwest corner of the 10 acres in the back yard. I took them as I walked northeast. The 3rd to last picture is of some misc sprouts I saw coming up and the last two are from the back of my house looking east. The soil has about a foot of black loamy top soal with a tight brown clay under it.
I know the site will have to have a lot of cleanup, dead fall and many small tree's. I am completely new to this and for all I know I may already have some on site. In the spring there are a lot of ground flowers I think they are jack in the box? pink and white almost look like a lilly.
Thanks for any help!
Ray

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Re:Site suitability? 13 years 1 month ago #9083

Koolrayz,
The White and Pink flower plants are Trilium and that's a good sign. You also are referring to a Jack-in-the Pulpit plant I believe and you may have some of those as well. You have a good bit of land. So look for the spots with the biggest trees and the least amount of underbrush. I am sure you have a lot of great spots. Look for spots with about 75 to 85% canopy too. Your woods appears to hae a lot of Maple and Beech trees which is good too. I see the leaves in your pic too and those are all beech leaves.
There is a lot more to view on this forum so put in any topic in the search box and see what you can find to help you out.
Good luck,
Latt

Re:Site suitability? 13 years 1 month ago #9084

Koolrayz,