2024 Winter/Spring Planting:

* Ginseng Seed: Currently shipping everyday until sold out
* Ginseng Rootlets: sold out
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
Post your experiences, questions and answers about growing wild-simulated ginseng

TOPIC: ginseng and deer

ginseng and deer 14 years 10 months ago #1270

• mike
  • mike's Avatar Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
im new to this but my friend owns a 300 acre deer farm with about 200 acres of it is open preserve my question do you think the deer would eat them they have about 5 feeders they keep full of grain and a couple food plots he said i could plant it but i dont wanna do it if the deer gonna eat it all

thanx mike

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Re:ginseng and deer 14 years 10 months ago #1271

Hey, Mike
you're right, the deer will eat the berries when the plants start producing seed at about 4 years of age. You have a few options though. you can fence your area off. might be kind of costly to do that. or you can hang cotton balls in the trees that are soaked with coyote urine. the deer will not go around that. you can buy coyote urine online.

Re:ginseng and deer 14 years 10 months ago #1272

• jace22101
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
i trap so i have plenty of urine

Re:ginseng and deer 14 years 10 months ago #1273

Mike, here is another thought. Deer are basically a bit lazy in somethings -must be learning from humans, but if after you plant, cover the new seedlings with brush. Not enough to smother but, enough to make the deer stick their head in the pile to get to it. If there is food outside the brush pile for the deer to eat, they will most likely not go to the extra trouble to get to the sang. I have seen that work in the wild.