* Ginseng Seed: Currently shipping everyday until sold out
* Ginseng Rootlets: sold out
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Newbie Alert

Newbie Alert 12 years 7 months ago #11442

Hello All,

I am new to the ginseng world and I just wanted to post some questions to see if there is any advice out there. I am starting to plant this fall in Upstate NY. I have a friend who has been into Ginseng for 15 yrs now so he is a lot of help but still needed a couple of pointers from any one who can share any tips. I plan on planting about 3/4 of an acre of seeds and rootlets. When I went out to prep the land I came upon about 6 wild plants that I will be picking during the upcoming season. I need to know where to sell such a small amount to as this site does not have any upstate NY dealers. Also any first timer pointers would be greatfully appreciated. I will make sure to post from time to time how I am doing.

Thank you all

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Re:Newbie Alert 12 years 7 months ago #11444

Try to find more before you dig. The money from that amount would not be much unless they are big. I make small fences for plants to keep deer and such away. One good thing if plants are already there you have a good spot. Good luck.

Re:Newbie Alert 12 years 7 months ago #11445

Welcome,
I would leave those 6-wild plants there and plant their wild berries along with the seed you are going to purchase. 6-wild roots are only worth about $2.00 a piece dried if they are average in size. However, those same wild plants can produce around 50 seeds per plant. So those 300 seeds total per year from those 6 plants will give you a better return for your money in the long run if you use them for seed production. Plus you will be cross pollinating the wild genetics into the purchased seeds genetics offspring eventually.